Senior Management

Led by the Director of Laboratories and the Chief Scientist of Trina Solar, the senior management lends technical and managerial know-hows to all SKL PVST’s constituencies and equips the teams and the laboratories to pioneer next generation technologies suitable for the market. Together, the management brings over 150 combined years of expertise in the field of Photovoltaics.

Director of Laboratories – Dr ZhiQiang Feng

Dr. ZhiQiang Feng received his PhD degree from Yokohama National University and Postdoctoral degree from Lowa State University. He is the Director of Trina Solar Cell Technology department and the State Key Laboratory of Photovoltaic Science and Technology, He was one of the “Jiangsu Province Innovation and Entrepreneurship Talent”, He is a member of the National Plan 863 Expert selected by the Ministry of Science, and is the vice director of China photovoltaic professional committee in the China Renewable Energy Society, and is the Vice Director of Jiangsu Province Enterprise Engineering Technology Center, the internationalization experts in enterprise experts of Changzhou City, and is the adjunct professor in Physics and Engineering Technology College, an education industry experts in degree graduate (material engineering solar energy direction) of Sun Yat-sen University, and is a part-time doctoral tutor of Changzhou University.

As the Trina Solar’s technical director, he has been leading the company’s technical team to achieve a series of breakthrough results since 2011, resulting in 15 world records of crystalline silicon solar cell conversion efficiencies and module power outputs.

Dr. Feng is the leader of the National Plan 973, Fundamental Research on Low Defect High Efficiency Casting Crystalline Silicon Solar Cells, and the National Plan 863, Key Technology Package and Demonstration Production Line for Industrialization of Interdigitated-back-contact Crystalline Silicon Cells.

In October 2015, Dr. Feng won the Chinese Solar PV Achievement Award at the China PV Conference, an annual award presented to the person who has made outstanding contributions to the photovoltaic technology. In May 2016, Dr. Feng won the PV Industry Technology Leader award at the 10th SNEC International Solar Photovoltaic Production Engineering (Shanghai) Exhibition and Forum. In Oct 2016, Dr. Feng was awarded the “China PV Industry Association Outstanding Contribution Enterprise Expert Award.” on the first council session of the China Photovoltaic Industry Association. In Nov 2016, in the 2016 “Light Cup” CREC annual photovoltaic industry selection activities, Dr. Feng won the PV “Solvay” 2016 Science All-Star award, this award recognizes the outstanding scientists who have contributed to the advancement of the photovoltaic industry in the past 1-3 years.

As of Dec 2016, Dr. Feng has published a total of more than 110 papers, and over 10 pieces of authorized patents.

Academic Deputy Director of Laboratories – Dr Pierre Verlinden

Dr. Pierre Verlinden received his doctorate degree in Electrical Engineering from the Catholic University of Louvain (UCL), Belgium.

Spanning across 3 decades, his dedication to the PV technology started as a researcher then Assistant Professor at the Microelectronics Laboratory of the UCL, Belgium. He was a visiting professor at the Aix – Marseille III University in France, and visiting scholar at Stanford University in the US prior to joining SunPower Corporation as the director of R&D. After holding several technical and managerial positions in PV companies in Australia, he joined Trina Solar in 2011 as the chief scientist. He is also the deputy director of State Key Laboratory of PVST and the vice director of Jiangsu Province Enterprise Engineering Technology Center.

On 8th June 2016, Dr. Pierre Verlinden received the 2016 William R. Cherry Award, one of the most distinguished awards in the solar photovoltaic (PV) energy industry.

Dr Pietro Altermatt

Dr. Pietro Altermatt academic career started from the University of New South Wales, where he spent 8 years as research fellow in the group of Prof. Martin. A. Green. Afterwards, he joined the group of Prof. Andres Cuevas in Australian National University, and was awarded the prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Fellowship from the Australian Research Council(ARC). Between 2005 and 2015, he was head of the modeling group at the University of Hanover and the Institute for Solar Energy Research in Hamelin (ISFH). In May 2015, he joined Trina as Principal Scientist.

On June 2016, Dr. Pietro was selected in the “outside the 100 people plan” of Jiangsu province.

Technology Committee

Meet the team of local and international experts that guards the vision for the Laboratory.